Dota 2 Major Invites announced

Valve announces Invited teams list for Manila Major

Valve has finally announced the names of 12 invited teams for the upcoming Manila Major. This might come as a shocker since normally only 8 teams are invited for previous editions, however this time Valve seems certain on their team picks even if the critics might not be. Leaving all the drama behind let's look at the confirmed attendees of the upcoming Major.

1.  Team Secret
2.  Team Liquid
3.  Evil Geniuses
4.  MVP Phoenix
5.  Wings Gaming
6.  Vici Gaming Reborn
7.  Fnatic
8.  OG
9.  Complexity
10.  Alliance
11.  Natus Vincere
12.  LGD Gaming

With these 12 teams locked down, all eyes are set on the remaining 4 teams who will have to qualify via regional qualifiers which will be held separately for America, Europe, China and South East Asia. The online qualifiers are already underway and you can follow all the action HERE.

The concept of have three different majors was introduced by Valve after last year’s Dota 2 world championship (TI5) in an attempt to maintain a stable roster within the teams. As a result, all the teams had to lock down their roster within the exchange window in March following the previous edition of Major hosted in Shanghai. Since this is the last major before the International the performance of all the teams is expected to directly affect the list of teams invited for TI6, so be sure to expect an amazing competition between the best talents around the world.

South East Asia has been constantly neglected by major global eSports event organizing bodies in terms of major LAN events. However this time Manila, the capital city of Philippines and one of the favorite destinations for SEA eSports lovers, will host the upcoming Major. The event will be hosted in the iconic stadium, Mall Of Asia Arena, which by the way also hosted the recently concluded ESL One Manila. The LAN event is scheduled from 7th till 12th June.

You must be logged in to leave comments.